skip navigation

Defiance Athletics celebrates 2022 Swarm Awards

Defiance Athletics celebrates 2022 Swarm Awards

The Defiance Athletic Department and the Purple and Gold Club presented The 2022 Swarm Awards to celebrate the accomplishments of our student-athletes and teams on Sunday, May 1.

Many student-athletes and teams were honored for their performances on the playing surface and recognized for their excellent job in the classroom. Prior to the ceremony, all who attended were provided many choices of desserts and beverages to help kick off the night of celebration.

The seniors during the past season were also honored and recognized by the athletic department during the ceremony.

Want to relive the 2022 Swarm Awards? Click here ⇒ 2022 Swarm Awards

Photos of the event can be viewed here.

2022 Swarm Award Winners

Female Newcomer of the Year - Women's Track Freshman Traci Cross      Male Newcomer of the Year - Men's Soccer Sophomore Erdwin Quintana (Junior Austin Boles accepted the award on Erdwin's behalf)


Team GPA for Individual Sports - Women's Cross Country                         Team GPA for Team Sports - Softball



Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year - Softball Sophomore Brooke Silcox      Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year - Junior Wrestler Seth Majewski


The Buzz Award - Junior Will Garlock                                                            Faculty/Staff Fan of the Year - Bobby Stearns


Phyllis J. Snyder Fan Appreciation Award - Charles and Janet Koch              Purple and Gold Appreciation Award - Softball Junio Alivia Krzuczowski


Female Performance of the Year - Women's Track Freshman Traci Cross and Softball Senior Taylor Biggs      Male Performance of the Year - Men's Soccer Junior Armando Campos-Ortiz


AAUW Scholar-Athlete Award - Women's Basketball Junior Lauren Criblez       Gene Geren Award - Men's Basketball Junior Grant Johnson


Duane Hocking Award - Softball Senior Kalin Hubble                                    Marv Hohenberger Award - Men's Basketball Senior Marell Jordan (Men's Basketball Senior Tyler Andrew accepted the award on Marell's behalf)



Purple and Gold Distinguished Male Athlete Award - Baseball Senior Nate Kaffenbarger 


Purple and Gold Distinguished Female Athlete Award - Softball Senior Kalin Hubble

Team of the Year - Men's Soccer

2022 Swarm Awards Highlight Video